Katamari Dama-cookies: Snickerdoodles!

DSC_0072_01

I tried with the title, okay? Don’t judge me. Anywhooooo….

Snickerdoodles. The name is awesome, don’t you think? Earlier that day when we were baking, I was wondering how these delicious cookies got their name. According to Wikipedia (I know we’re not supposed to cite from there, but whatevs! School’s almost out, and I’m getting a head start), snickerdoodles might have come from the German word Schneckennudeln (“snail noodles”), a kind of pastry. Or just a mash up of words from New England. I’m too lazy to do further research, so if there are any snickerdoodle experts out there, feel free to let us know what’s up.

DSC_0057_01

I got the recipe from this sweet blog again. She’s awesome, so go check her out if you want to cook something good.

Fat Fluffy Snickerdoodles

makes 16-20 cookies

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 tablespoons milk

1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon cinnamon for dipping

Preheat oven to 375.

Cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add egg and vanilla, mixing well until combine, about 2 minutes. Stir in flour, baking powder, salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon. Mix until dough comes together. Add in milk. If dough is still crumbly, add milk 1 tablespoon at a time until it comes together. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

In a bowl combine remaining sugar and cinnamon. Remove dough from fridge and roll into big 1 1/2 inch balls. Dip in cinnamon sugar mixture and place on baking sheet. Lightly press down on dough to flatten it. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.

This is me and Julius’s first time baking cookies from scratch. We did pretty well for our first time (it’s probably because these are really easy to make). Oh! And my mom bought a new stand mixer for the kitchen, so that made things even easier.

DSC_0040_01

I wanted to pick the recipes I’m going to bake for my family’s Christmas party, and I think there’s a good chance that this might be one of them. However, Julius (and a whole lot of other people) are requesting that I make chocolate chip cookies for the holidays too, so maybe I’ll make those instead. Decisions decisions decisions.

Like I mentioned earlier, we didn’t have a hard time making these cookies (baking them is a different story though). The dough (to my knowledge) turned out great. If it’s not supposed to look like that please let me know!

DSC_0050_01

I never knew baking cookies was so fun. My favorite part was rolling the cookies into balls and rolling them around in cinnamon and sugar. IT’S SO FUN.

DSC_0059_01

Rolling rolling rolling. I don’t know about you guys, but I honestly felt like the Prince from the video game, Katamari Damacy. If you’ve played that game before you’re badass. Just sayin’

katamari

DSC_0066_01

Julius was cute. He had a lot of fun pressing the dough balls down with a small ramekin.

DSC_0069_01

Things were going great. The first batch was in the oven, we were working on our second batch, and my kitchen was starting to smell heavenly. You can really smell the cinnamon. If only my house could smell like that all the time…….. Anyways, the first batch came out great. They were fat and fluffy just like the recipe promised! However, disaster struck when I put the second and third batch in the oven.

This is embarrassing, but I’m still going to say it. MY COOKIES CAUGHT ON FIRE!!! Okay, well not my cookies per say. It was actually these burnt pieces of batter that overflowed in the stove when I tried making red velvet cake earlier in the morning. I think I can safely say that I suck at reacting to emergencies. Or maybe it’s just fire emergencies? But it’s still an emergency, so it’s still bad. I know. Thank goodness Julius was there to help put it out.

More good news is that most of my cookies survived. Only three got seriously burnt, but that’s not bad at all.

DSC_0073_01

This is my first baking disaster, and I’m pretty sure there’s more to come. Oh well! Sift happens. (See what I did there? I hope you saw what I did there).

2 thoughts on “Katamari Dama-cookies: Snickerdoodles!

Leave a Reply

